[5.18,1046/1095] batman-adv: tracing: Use the new __vstring() helper

Message ID 20220815180512.360819821@linuxfoundation.org
State Not Applicable, archived
Delegated to: Simon Wunderlich
Headers
Series None |

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman Aug. 15, 2022, 6:07 p.m. UTC
  From: Steven Rostedt (Google) <rostedt@goodmis.org>

[ Upstream commit 9abc291812d784bd4a26c01af4ebdbf9f2dbf0bb ]

Instead of open coding a __dynamic_array() with a fixed length (which
defeats the purpose of the dynamic array in the first place). Use the new
__vstring() helper that will use a va_list and only write enough of the
string into the ring buffer that is needed.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20220724191650.236b1355@rorschach.local.home

Cc: Marek Lindner <mareklindner@neomailbox.ch>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Simon Wunderlich <sw@simonwunderlich.de>
Cc: Antonio Quartulli <a@unstable.cc>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>
Cc: b.a.t.m.a.n@lists.open-mesh.org
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Acked-by: Sven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt (Google) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
 net/batman-adv/trace.h | 9 ++-------
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)
  

Patch

diff --git a/net/batman-adv/trace.h b/net/batman-adv/trace.h
index d673ebdd0426..31c8f922651d 100644
--- a/net/batman-adv/trace.h
+++ b/net/batman-adv/trace.h
@@ -28,8 +28,6 @@ 
 
 #endif /* CONFIG_BATMAN_ADV_TRACING */
 
-#define BATADV_MAX_MSG_LEN	256
-
 TRACE_EVENT(batadv_dbg,
 
 	    TP_PROTO(struct batadv_priv *bat_priv,
@@ -40,16 +38,13 @@  TRACE_EVENT(batadv_dbg,
 	    TP_STRUCT__entry(
 		    __string(device, bat_priv->soft_iface->name)
 		    __string(driver, KBUILD_MODNAME)
-		    __dynamic_array(char, msg, BATADV_MAX_MSG_LEN)
+		    __vstring(msg, vaf->fmt, vaf->va)
 	    ),
 
 	    TP_fast_assign(
 		    __assign_str(device, bat_priv->soft_iface->name);
 		    __assign_str(driver, KBUILD_MODNAME);
-		    WARN_ON_ONCE(vsnprintf(__get_dynamic_array(msg),
-					   BATADV_MAX_MSG_LEN,
-					   vaf->fmt,
-					   *vaf->va) >= BATADV_MAX_MSG_LEN);
+		    __assign_vstr(msg, vaf->fmt, vaf->va);
 	    ),
 
 	    TP_printk(